Last Remaining Light

The last remaining light shines
through her bedroom
window
as she tells me
how much she loves me
a hyperbole
I impossibly attempt
to one up

I agree to read her
just one more book
it’s a short one
Happy Easter Little Critter
and moments later
I can tell by
her breathing
that she’s on her way to sweet dreams

and I am left here
wondering how I shape her
what’s she thinking
what she’s really dreaming
how long it takes to
no longer need me
how long it will be
before she’s independent

by now the light’s out
the sun is down
it’s pitch black in here
she is snoring
I’m left thinking
all these deep thoughts
that escape me during daylight
that wash over me now like a flood

Leave a Reply

