But Me

I’m writing you
a piece of history
from this balcony
where I can see
all below me

it’s all planned out
like a battle map
so why even try
I know I can fly
I know I will touch the ground

I know I will scorch
the earth
carving your initials
in my skin
no one can pronounce your name

but me

but, to me, it is all the same

it is your blame
I crave
you’re concave
and I am perplexed
falling from apex

I am a cylinder
and you are
multi-facted
bones braced
and you are so abrasive

adhesive
you hold my heart
together when I stop
time and count my
blessings

but me

but, to me, it’s all the same

Leave a Reply

