Embers Caught

Betrayals unaware,
sidelong somewhere sinking

stacking up the empties,
they never fall, I’m never full

watch the color drain
from composed faces

drifting in and out
of someone else’s dream

that’s how I feel today,
been wide awake all goddamn day

like I am caressing the weapon
to a murder I don’t remember committing

like I am the broken pieces,
the shards of your bad luck

embers caught in the last
breath of a dying lung

drifting in and out of
someone else’s consciousness

hit in the head, I am
suffering someone else’s concussion

mouth full of gravel, nothing left to say
that’s how I feel left out today

Leave a Reply

