Sift

I am made of earth
I sift through eternity
artists express themselves through me
children play in me,
and, with me, grownups nourish families

I am made of wood
I stand still for eternity
majestic birds, they flock to me
lovers kiss beneath my limbs
and carve their initials into me

I am made of stone
I stand still for eternity
fortresses are made of me
people throw and break the bones
of enemies with pieces of me

I am made of metal
I stand still for eternity
craftsmen forge weapons of me
and armor to keep their vitals safe
statues, tributes are made of me

I am made of flesh
I stand still for blink of eye
other flesh attracts to me
I find ways to break self down,
I am destined to ash or ground

2 thoughts on “Sift

Leave a Reply

