Alongside

I do not know what is inside you.

You do not know what is inside me.

So let us set aside
our skin-bound jacket descriptions
and learn to accept
each other’s
shortcomings and
high-water marks;

avert our missile eyes,
sheath our serrated tongues,
put away our draining habits

and live each other fully
in ever-locked embrace.

Defining truth with lies, the loving so must die.

Youth is not a stone;
and death is a stone’s throw
away,
a pebble rolling slowly down the hill,
snowballing into cliff face.

Before I

f
a
l
l

o
f
f

I will cherish the feasts in my belly
alongside the wishbones in my throat,
for everyone must choke.

Leave a Reply

