Dirt

I
Me
We
She
Be
See it
is difficult
to transcend these pronouns—
no that is an understatement
if I
ever fucking heard one
How do we separate
this bone and meat and gristle
from spirit soul & whistling
whim
Do you hear it?
spitting in your ear
When your head is down
When you think you are
on the way out
Try and ignore it
Try, identify with
slab of meat
on steel cold counter
Will you find your self
swirling down drain
clockwise?
I do not think so
I do not stake my claim
in rotting in
rich soil
feeding worms
& plants
I will not resort
to becoming
compost
I do not
accept
this return
to dirt

One thought on “Dirt

Leave a Reply

