Could Be the Coffee

I’m feeling anxious
this morning
I feel it in my chest
& deep down in my gut

could be the coffee
or something else entirely
it’s hard to shake
this handshake

it’s Easter with in-laws
the girls are hiding
plastic eggs for the kids
color coded
so less than, more than
aren’t an issue

they crack them open
find candy & coins
a dollar bill

and I’m distracted
I want to crack myself open
& see what’s inside

what’s making me tick
& what’s making me sick
why I’m broken
in need of a fix

maybe it’s the coffee
yeah…
but this feeling’s hard to shake

One thought on “Could Be the Coffee

Leave a Reply

