Honorific Negativity

So much complaining
I don’t want to live my life
that way
and I ain’t perfect
never claimed to be
but I prefer to revel
in this splendid shade of red,
to own this bloodshed

I would rather see
the good
in substandard social circles
I want to see the light
creeping through your dark
side, cracks
in your fierce exterior
I want to believe

there is a good seed encapsulated
in
that sadness
alas,
an observer has no control
but to ignore and purge,
set fire to your looming shadow
I don’t want it following me around.

Leave a Reply

