Catharsis

Poetry is not all flowery & fragrant;
she is the dying rose’s thorn, still able to draw blood

I am that rose, given unconditionally
to just wilt & wither
through this healing process

she comes to me in words, in phrases
and I am the brush, painting that certain feeling
coloring emotion
single words that mingle together in ecstasy
frolicking inside my brain

I never liked my voice, and I forget things
so I write them down in barely legible scribbles
and later type them up pretty
oh, how I wish I could serenade her
spontaneously

my soul is open
for interpretation
feel free to look too much
into me
or misinterpret my original
intention
my path is layered
before me, yet

however selfishly I compose my self
it is not for nothing
if just one person finds
comfort in dried petals
and sore fingertips

 

© Copyright Steve Shultz. All rights reserved.

Written for dVerse Poets Pub’s “Poems about Poetry” prompt.

14 thoughts on “Catharsis

  1. she comes to me in words, in phrases
    and I am the brush, painting that certain feeling… i like the interaction in this..the receiving and creating and giving to those that may find comfort in what we wove together..

  2. nice…those first two stanzas are tight man…yes it is not all pretty….sometimes it is being willing to paint in blood surelly…and i have to keep a notebook because it does not come out pretty at all…and if one person find s a bit…it is def worth it…

  3. I particularly enjoyed how you engage the relationship between writer and reader. The odd voyeurism that is peering into another person too deeply and rife with misunderstanding when all we have are words on a page.

  4. Poetry can be part of a healing process. It can also make one very, very sick.

    Ooh, this is a dangerous invitation:
    “my soul is open
    for interpretation
    feel free to look too much
    into me”

    I’m so glad you mentioned this: “my path is layered before me, yet” … To me, this is one of the best parts of poetry—the layered meanings. That, I find, is a true art.

  5. really wonderful description of the process of composition. A fine job having the piece reflect a completely emotionally driven state, and I have to say the vulnerability on display in the fourth and fifth stanzas are incredibly illustrated. Amazing work Steve. Thanks

  6. Wonderful how the rose metaphor winds through the thoughts and output of the poet here. The close is what each of us hopes for — that the message is communicated, that the insight is shared.

Leave a Reply

