steady my stream

sometimes mind
vibrates harmonious
other times so
lachrymose
a moistened towelette
mopping up rejected
verbs at multiplex

exhausted from keep
on keepin on
sometimes this ride
needs stick in
bicycle spokes
to change up revolution
need more able bodies
to hold up mastered minds
wasted cells regenerate
memory’s munitions
blast me to a perfect
past

snorting sunshine
through a rolled up
play dollar bill
rocked backed to
the present with
nose dripping blood
on tablet screen

we all scream for
extremes
I take moderation
in moderation
you only live once
that’s what they say
before reborn
tabula rasa

new diapers to dirty
but hey not everything
is ugly like mouthful
of pink birthday cake
chewed up and spit back out

try to have a little fun
lighten up put down
the lighter fluid
burning charred marks of
gloom and doom
try a different brush
stroke that capsized boat
do something about that negative
shock like a joker’s handshake

put back the pin
in self’s grenade
I hereby state
no desire to
copy & paste my fate

***************************************************************
Posted for dVerse Poetry Pub’s Stream of Consciousness meeting the bar poetry prompt, hosted by Victoria C. Slotto.

20 thoughts on “steady my stream

  1. A great stream of consciousness! ‘snorting sunshine/through a rolled up/play dollar bill’ and ‘put back the pin/in self’s grenade’ are just two memorable lines. Well done.

  2. ha so does snorting sunshine hurt…i know a stick in the bike spokes does when you go for a flip…we did that as kids once but i am all for shaking things up a bit you know….def no copy and paste…smiles…wicked flow dude…

  3. Ha! Copy and paste your fate? We’ve all felt like that from time to time, love the metaphor your line of thought carries me to. If life can’t be an awesome metaphor don’t replace it with a simile 😀 Great write Steve!

  4. Excellent and I have no idea what lachrymose means! The copy and paste….I do like it when we insert the happenin’ times of the day. You are the master of extremes.

  5. You really did a great job of creating feeling with your stream-of-consciousness work. I especially liked the image about snorting sunshine with a rolled-up play dollar bill. Great flow that really propelled me through the poem and the experience with you.

  6. Nice flow – really enjoyed these lines:

    snorting sunshine
    through a rolled up
    play dollar bill
    rocked backed to
    the present with
    nose dripping blood
    on tablet screen

  7. stream writing is always a cool adventure. I do them all the time, which is kind of funny that I didn’t do one tonight, but that’s another story, haha. But I’ve always found stream to be more revealing to the author, as for the reading, I love them because they are typically ripe with symbolism, abstract thought, randomness and contain an atmosphere of never knowing. Great one here Steve Thanks.

  8. I take moderation
    in moderation
    you only live once

    and so you do so we must give life our all.

    Excellent write.

    Anna :o]

  9. Totally fascinating & uniquely written – really like the way it’s written actually- it flows, but it’s not smooth as in ‘edited’- this completely adds to the stream of consciousness you have spilled out here- I like the questions you raise (or at least how I’m interpreting it) with that being about writing- to want t try and write something positive- something life affirming- ‘try to lighten up- try a different brush’ – and ‘putting back the pin into the grenade of the self’- aka holding back, not wanting to spill too much. Ayah- hopefully I’m not missing the point….I guess what im trying to say- is that this is meaningful – meaningful to me anyway….great work

  10. just wondering if this could BE more amazing.
    I love how your work is so accurately critical of modern life…
    “put back the pin
    in self’s grenade
    I hereby state
    no desire to
    copy & paste my fate”

    and this just brings me back to “the good times”
    “sometimes this ride
    needs stick in
    bicycle spokes
    to change up revolution”

Leave a Reply

