Whiskey Hiccups

I am a discontented DJ
always changing the music
just when it gets good

I am drinking whiskey
from a wine glass
chasing good times
from a taped-off past

It’s quite a shock
cold & hot
in the same instant

Hope I don’t
cut myself
on this sharp sharp knife

My mommy, my daddy
used to worry about me
now I worry about them

Installment plan all over again

Revolve in peace
who are you to
decide a planet’s fate

Don’t leave your
best work upon the floor
cutting you in
after-hours rooms

the humblest hotels
leave your hand hostile

Tried to speak the truth
but only hiccuped

I can’t help that
everything I believe in
exists in the space
between hiccups.

One thought on “Whiskey Hiccups

Leave a Reply

